Added on 13 July 2020

The Digital Preservation Coalition (DPC) is delighted to introduce its international panel of expert judges for the 2020 Digital Preservation Awards, as nominations remain open for the most prestigious celebration of significant and innovative contributions to securing our digital legacy.

As in 2018, the Digital Preservation Awards expert Judging Panel represents digital preservation interests from all sectors and from around the world.

Representing a range of interests from within the DPC membership and awards category sponsors, as well as the sectoral and geographical diversity of the DPC’s membership, the panel are:

  • Angela Beking, Library and Archives Canada
  • Neil Chue Hong, Software Sustainability Institute (SSI)
  • Susan Corrigall, National Records of Scotland
  • Joanna Fleming, State Library of New South Wales
  • Neil Grindley, Jisc
  • Abbie Grotke, Library of Congress
  • Natalie Harrower, Digital Repository of Ireland
  • Neil Jefferies, Bodleian Libraries University of Oxford
  • William Kilbride, DPC
  • Kirsty Lingstadt, University of Edinburgh
  • Roxana Maurer, Bibliothèque Nationale du Luxembourg
  • Sally McInnes, National Library of Wales
  • Sharon McMeekin, DPC
  • April Miller, World Bank Group
  • Laura Molloy, Oxford Internet Institute / CODATA
  • Sheila Morrissey
  • Marcel Ras, Dutch Digital Heritage Network (DHN)
  • Karen Sampson, Lloyds Banking Group
  • Anthea Seles, International Council on Archives
  • John Sheridan, The UK National Archives

Find out more about the 2020 Digital Preservation Awards Judging Panel

Following their first meeting, the panel will appoint a chair who will assume the responsibility to confirm the independence and integrity of the judging process.

A previous winner of the Digital Preservation Awards in 2016 and 2020 award sponsor, Anthea Seles is delighted to be part of the international judging panel, saying:

“The Digital Preservation Awards are a great way for your work to gain recognition from a community of digital preservation experts and a way to share information about different inspiring initiatives. And now, as sponsor of the Award for Collaboration and Cooperation, and I am very excited to encourage entries from all sectors around the world to benefit from this experience!”

The panel will select winners based on the following evidence: the original nomination; the detailed description of the project; the presentation from the finalist; question and answer with finalists. One criterion – Assessment of Quality by Peers – will be measured for finalists via an online poll of the DPC membership. The judges shall decide the weight given to this criterion before they have seen the results of the poll.

This year the exciting process will culminate in a presentation ‘with a difference’ on World Digital Preservation Day on Thursday 5th November 2020. More information about the presentation of awards will follow in due course.

The Digital Preservation Awards remains open for nominations, with one month left to submit entries.

Enter before the deadline of 09:00 (BST) on Monday 10th August 2020.

Scroll to top