Added on 29 November 2018

In an exciting finale to the Digital Preservation Awards 2018, leading organisations and practitioners of digital preservation have gathered together for a spectacular awards ceremony at Amsterdam Museum, as part of an International Conference hosted by the Dutch Digital Heritage Network for World Digital Preservation Day on Thursday 29th November 2018.

Watch the Ceremony

Hosted by the DPC and introduced by the Chair of Judges, Steve Daly, Head of Technology for BBC Archives, the evening celebrated the achievements of those people and organisations who have made significant and innovative contributions to securing our digital legacy for the long-term.

Winners 8 LR

In a year which saw the greatest number of nominations received to date, those selected as finalists faced tough competition from entries across the world.

Chair of the DPC Board and Head of Data Division for STFC, Juan Bicarregui was overwhelmed by the quality and diversity of applications, saying: “We are absolutely delighted to see that the Digital Preservation Awards has once again recognised organisations from around the world, working collaboratively towards a common goal of securing our digital legacy. Our winners are truly worthy of their awards this evening.”

The IFI Irish Film Archive saw off entries from the White House Historical Association, the UK Parliamentary Archives and the Local Authority Consortium of West Sussex Records Office, Wiltshire & Swindon History Centre to claim The Award for Safeguarding the Digital Legacy with their exception project to preserve the rare Loopline collection of Irish cultural documentaries.

WDPD2018klein 112

The Award for the Most Outstanding Digital Preservation Initiative in Commerce, Industry and Third Sector made a return this year and was deservedly won by Crossrail and Transport for London, after beating tough competition from Stichting Omroep Muziek (Dutch Broadcast Music) and ICKAmsterdam and Motion Bank, with their ambitious work to preserve a heavily interlinked dataset covering all phases of Europe’s biggest infrastructure project.

Winners 3 LR

The innovative ePADD project from Stanford University Libraries scooped the highly competitive Award for Research and Innovation, while Jennifer Allen, Matthew Farrell, Shira Peltzman, Alice Prael and Dorothy Waugh by shared the Award for Teaching and Communications for their truly open and collaborative ‘Archivists Guide to Kryoflux.’  Anna Oates who completed her thesis at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign took the prize for the Most Outstanding Student Work in Digital Preservation with her work on the PDF/A standard.

Winners 5. LRjpgWinners 1 LRWinners 2 LR

2018 also saw the return of the DPC Fellowship Award which was presented to Barbara Sierman who will be known to many in the digital preservation community for her work with the Koninklijke Bibliotheek (National Library of the Netherlands) and Open Preservation Foundation, as well as the development of the ISO standards 16363 Audit and Certification of Trustworthy Digital Repositories and ISO 161919 Requirements for bodies providing audit and certification of candidate trustworthy digital repositories as well as many other digital preservation projects. The award recognises Barbara’s sustained personal contribution to digital preservation, her generously shared insights and ongoing collaboration for the widest possible benefit.

Winners 7 LR

Watch interviews with all the winners

Full list of 2018 Digital Preservation Award Winners

The Software Sustainability Institute (SSI) Award for Research and Innovation, presented by Neil Chue Hong, SSI and Natalie Harrower, Digital Repository of Ireland

Stanford University Libraries

The DPC Award for Teaching and Communications, presented by Sally McInnes, National Library of Wales and Neil Grindley, Jisc

Jennifer Allen, Matthew Farrell, Shira Peltzman, Alice Prael and Dorothy Waugh
The Archivist’s Guide to Kryoflux

The National Records of Scotland (NRS) Award for the Most Distinguished Student Work in Digital Preservation, presented by Laura Mitchell, NRS and Laura Molloy, University of Oxford

Anna Oates, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

The Open Data Institute (ODI) Award for the Most Outstanding Digital Preservation Initiative in Commerce, Industry and the Third Sector, presented by David Beardmore, ODI and Sheila Morrissey, Portico

Crossrail and Transport for London
Archiving Crossrail

The National Archives Award for Safeguarding the Digital Legacy, presented by Valerie Johnson, The National Archives and Neil Jefferies

IFI Irish Film Archive
IFI Loopline Project

The DPC Fellowship Award, presented by Richard Ovenden, Bodleian Libraries

Barbara Sierman

DPA2018 Hi Res

See the full list of 2018 finalists

The DPC would like to thank all sponsors for their continued support in ensuring the Digital Preservation Awards can continue to recognise and celebrate achievements in the field of digital preservation.

DPA2018 All Sponsors 180914

Scroll to top