23 May 2018 | 8am PST - 10am CT - 4pm BST/CET Online Webinar


The Software Preservation Webinar Series provides a survey of software preservation contexts. Each episode explores a different software preservation context by providing an overview, discussion with guest speakers (specialists in digital preservation, software studies, scholarly communication, open source software and more) and open discussion with attendees.

The webinar series is jointly hosted by the Digital Preservation Coalition and the Software Preservation Network.

EPISODE 5: Scaling Software Preservation and Emulation

This episode explores current programmatic and project based initiatives to create the processes and infrastructure that will support a growing number of software (re)use cases/organizational users. Our first use case highlights challenges and opportunities associated with scaling an institutional software preservation program. Our second use case highlights the challenges and opportunities associated with scaling software preservation across institutions.

Research Lead and Facilitator:  

Guests

Discussion Questions:

  1. Define scale in the context of your project. How is scale different from growth?
  2. Are there aspects of software preservation that are not in scope for your project or program to tackle, but are nevertheless crucial to the long-term success of your project or programmatic goals?

Sharing experiences and perspectives is critical to understanding the hurdles in software preservation, to imagining future use of software-dependent data, and to forming a mutual understanding of where collective action is necessary to facilitate those future uses so we hope you will join the discussion.

The webinar series is free to attend and open to all.  


Coming soon...

 

Watch the webinar recording

Supplementary Resources

Ongoing Discussion

Add your thoughts and comments below...


Scroll to top