19 March 2020 | Daily Session - Various Times Online


Zoom may now require you to have a personal account in order to join a meeting. Therefore please could you register for an account in advance of #DPConnect, if you do not have one already. The sign up link is here: https://zoom.us/signup


The Digital Preservation Coalition exists to connect people and enable ever closer collaboration towards a shared global challenge; and yet we find ourselves with new and surprising advice about isolation and distancing. Isolation should not mean lack of solidarity. 

From Thursday 19th March, starting with a session at 12:30 UTC+1, we're launching a new platform called #DPConnect to provide an ongoing, online presence at regular intervals throughout the week, run so that it is available at time zones around the world.

It is a chance to check in with each other and provide a social moment of interaction with peers and co-workers. The gatherings are not long, 30 minutes max, they have no agenda and no themes - although you are welcome to share work problems and challenges - or just check in with each other if you are struggling or feel isolated.  Longer meetings can continue once others have left if required.  We'll use the hashtag #dpconnect when we discuss it on twitter.

If we succeed, the global digital preservation community will come out of this period of isolation better connected. 

Who can use #DPConnect?

  •  #DPConnect is available to everyone in the digital preservation community, DPC Members and non-members alike, provided all participants are respectful and supportive of one another and adhere to the DPC's Inclusion and Diversity Policy (see more below).

How to #DPConnect?

  • #DPConnect will use the DPC's online Zoom facility.
  • Choose from daily sessions, Monday - Friday.
  • Connect by phone or web.
  • DPC members may access the sessions they would like to attend directly, by logging into the website to reveal the joining information.
  • Non-Members who would like to attend the sessions may request the joining information by clicking on their preferred timing below.
  • Re-usable meeting links: Pick your region or timezone and it will be the same meeting ID or URL each day.
  • Each session to be captained by a DPC Staff Member or volunteer (see Guidance for Sessions Captains and to volunteer please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.).
  • Note any items of digital preservation discussion you would like to record for action or information here (not compulsory)

Timings

**Please note: DPC Staff will not be captaining the #DPConnect sessions throughout the month of August. We will return in September with a new program of events and an updated #DPConnect timetable**

DPC Members please login to access joining information, non-members please click on your preferred session to request joining information.

 

Australasia and Asia

Europe and Africa

Americas and the Pacific

Monday  

21:30 AEST // 12:30 UTC+1 // 04:30 PDT

 

Tuesday

   

06:30 AEST // 21:30 UTC+1 // 13:30 PDT

Wednesday

12:00 AEST // 03:00 UTC+1 // 19:00 PDT (-1 day)

 

 

Thursday

   

05:30 AEST // 20:30 UTC+1 // 12:30 PDT

Friday  

21:30 AEST // 12:30 UTC+1 // 04:30 PDT

 

 

DPC Inclusion & Diversity Policy

The DPC Community is guided by the values set out in our Strategic Plan and aims to be respectful, welcoming, inclusive and transparent - the same applies to #DPConnect sessions. We encourage diversity in all its forms and are committed to being accessible to everyone who wishes to engage with the topic of digital preservation, whilst remaining technology and vendor neutral. We ask all those who are part of this community and/or attending a #DPConnect session to be positive, accepting, and sensitive to the needs and feelings of others in alignment with our DPC Inclusion & Diversity Policy. 


Scroll to top