

Digital Preservation Coalition, Annual General Meeting 2020

Draft Minutes

The Eighteenth Annual General Meeting of the Digital Preservation Coalition (DPC) was held at 1515 on Tuesday 1st December. The meeting was held online via Zoom.

In attendance: Juan Bicarregui (Chair), Kevin Ashley (DCC), Paul Stokes (JISC), William Kilbride (DPC), Aine Madden (DRI), Alexandra Mitchell (Uni of Salford), Amy Currie (DPC), Andrew Nicoll (HES), Audrey Drohan (UCD), Barbara Sierman (DPC Fellow), Bradley Daigle (APT), Caylin Smith (Cambridge Uni Lib), Christine McCarthy (Yale), Dirk Duellman (CERN), Elaine Penn (Uni of Westminster), Elisabeth Thurlow (UAL), Jen Mitcham (DPC), John McMillan (DPC), John Sheridan (TNA), Karyn Williamson (ASL), Kate Murray (LOC), Laura Peaurt (Uni of Nottingham), Matthew Woollard (UK Data Archive), Meg Phillips (NARA), Natalie Harrower (DRI), Patricia Sleeman UNHCR), Rachel MacGregor (Uni of Warwick), Roxana Maurer (BNL), Sally Cholewa (NatWest), Sally McInnes (NLW), Sarah Higgins (Aberystwyth Uni), Sharon McMeekin (DPC)

1. Welcome

Juan Bicarregui opened the meeting.

2. Introduction and formal notice of meeting

JB called the meeting to order noting that "This was Eighteenth Annual General Meeting of the DPC has been convened under the provisions of the Companies Act and the DPC Articles of Association which state that no more than 15 months may elapse between the date of one annual general meeting and that of the next. Due notice has been given to members by email on 9th November 2020."

3. Apologies

Alyson Campbell (DPC), Tim Keefe (Chester Beatty), Susan Corrigall (NRS), Stuart Lewis (NLS), Maureen Pennock (BL), Tuan Pham (Cambridge Uni), Simon Tucker (NDA), Donna McRostie (Uni Melb)

4. Minutes of the Seventeeth AGM, 3rd December 2019, University of London, London

The minutes were confirmed as a true account of the meeting and approved as such.

5. 2019-20 Annual Report of the DPC (William Kilbride- Verbal Report)

W Kilbride gave a brief presentation on the work of the DPC 2019-20



- Events 45 events, 8 face to face and 37 online including launches of Novice to Know How and the Melbourne office.
- Publications Major releases included DPC RAM, The BitList 2019, Policy Toolkit and Procurement Toolkit. Three Technology Watch reports are in different stages of being reviewed and published whilst the DPC website posted 143 Blog Posts and 117 News Articles during year.
- DPC RAM J Mitcham gave a brief presentation on the progress of DPC RAM including results to date and future plans
- Other Media 69 jobs advertised and 317 posts to the members email list
- Leadership Programme 21 grants to attend conferences and training events
- 11 New Members
- 3 New Supporters
- New People
 - New Sub-Committee Chair: Paul Stokes
 - o New Chair of Australasia Stakeholder Group: Donna McRostie
 - New Training Officer: Amy Currie
 - New Administration Officer: John McMillan
 - o New Head of DPC Australasia & Asia Pacific: Jaye Weatherburn
- Major Projects Novice to Know How, NDA, COPIM, TNA DIAGRAM, BitList, DPA Design
 & Redesign, Labour Market Analysis, Training Survey, University of Glasgow IMP
- **Novice to Know How** S McMeekin gave an update on Novice to Know How with progress to date and plans for future.

J Bicarregui thanked the staff and congratulated them on an excellent year.

N Harrower congratulated the DPC on the reaction to the pandemic.

P Sleeman noted the importance of community and the important that the DPC play in this.

6. The 2019-20 Annual Accounts of the DPC (DPCAGM20C)

W Kilbride presented the accounts which were in line with what had been presented previously and a surplus of £61K had been achieved. This was in line with budget and was for the planned sustainability of the organisation.

Auditors, Alexander Sloan provided an audit report with no issues that required the attention of the Board.

7. Elections

W Kilbride took over as Chair for this part of the meeting.

a) Election of Chair: Juan Bicarregui nominated

Proposed by Paul Stokes and Matthew Woollard seconded



There were no other candidates. Juan Bicarregui was elected as Chair.

b) Election of Vice Chair: Kevin Ashley nominated
 Proposed by Natalie Harrower and seconded by Matthew Woollard
 There were no other candidates. Kevin Ashley elected.

8. Appointment of Auditors

Alexander Sloan were proposed to be DPC auditors in the forthcoming year and the Executive Board approved the appointment.

9. Any Other Business

There was no other business.

Meeting closed at 16:02.